Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to the JLC Forums – Read-Only Edition

Please note that the JLC forums are now displayed read-only. New posts are no longer possible, but the collected work of building professionals sharing information remains available here as a resource to the JLC community.
See more
See less

markup on subs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• markup on subs

I'm new to the remodeling business, just starting my third year. I'm hung up on my mark-ups. From everything I've learned and have been told, it's always been "your markup on direct job costs should be 50%-80%". I markup materials, plans/permits, clean-up costs, and my labor 50%. But when It comes to my subs, it's hard for me to markup 50%. I guess I think that the price will be to high. The few jobs I have marked my subs up 50%, I haven't gotten. My overhead is fairly low, probably 15%-18%. I'm doing alright not marking my subs up 50%, sub markup is probably around 20-25% at it's best. I'm just wondering what you guys out there are doing. if you have a fixed markup for all direct job costs, or if it varies. Is it achievable to markup subs 50% or more? Thanks!

Re: markup on subs