Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to the JLC Forums – Read-Only Edition

Please note that the JLC forums are now displayed read-only. New posts are no longer possible, but the collected work of building professionals sharing information remains available here as a resource to the JLC community.
See more
See less

OSB ...slick side in/out & up/down?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OSB ...slick side in/out & up/down?

I am a carpenter and teach vocational carpentry at a vo-tech. Often, when I show apprentice carpenters something I have done for years, I hear "Why?". Most of the time I can give them answers I'm confident of. However, occasionally, I'm not sure ... other than "that's the way I learned" and "that's the way we have always done it". To provide a better answer, I usually contact other carpenters or manufacturers or head to the library to "teach" the teacher. I thought I would give "FORUM" a shot at providing an answer to a question that is asked every time we sheath walls or deck floors with OSB. "Why is one side slick and one side rough?" and "Which side goes down on floors (rough / slick) and which goes in to the structure (rough / slick)?" I'm interested in the different answers from "FORUM" ... I've received some interesting and different responses from seasoned carpenters.
    Thanks Jim

Re: OSB ...slick side in/out & up/down?

Slick side down on floors and roofs. It helps prevents falls.

Slick side inside on walls so you can see the colored nailing lines.

I sure wish they would put those lines on plywood.

Comment

rough side to exterior. same as above, prevents falls on thr roof and I was under the impression it had a certain amount of waterproofing on it to help keep it from delaminating during the rough-in stage.

Comment