Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
    R. Wilson Guest

Default post tension v. traditional slab

I am a construction manager for a large production home builder in Houston. My company builds 3000+ units a year through out the country. Here in Houston, our foundations are exclusively slab on grade post tension. We do not use turn key concrete companies. We truly "piece mill" our foundations, i.e. hire differnet subs for form set, plumbing grounds, make up, and pour. In addition we order our own concrete and make up material for our jobs.

Here are your questions. Which do you prefer?

Post tension vs. traditional, and why?
    Piece mill vs. turn key, and why?

James V. Vitale, AIA, CSI Guest

Default Re: post tension v. traditional slab

Post tension is usually required for expansive soil, is this your case?

In most cases turn key is better as it eliminates many of the disputes between individual subs and makes for a better quality finish product. Also, if one delays another of if a pump breaks down it can become a scheduling nightmare.

R. Wilson Guest

Yes, we do have very expansive soil in Houston. We refer to it as "Gumbo." It contains alot of clay. However, I don't believe that's the reason that my or any other production company calls for post tension. I believe it's simply for costs, although no one would ever admit that. Most people who call for post tension will exclaim that is a superior system. Most "true" custom builders that I've talked to believe that post tension is inferior and will only call for a "conventional" or "traditional" foundation.

R. Wilson Guest