Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to the JLC Forums – Read-Only Edition

Please note that the JLC forums are now displayed read-only. New posts are no longer possible, but the collected work of building professionals sharing information remains available here as a resource to the JLC community.
See more
See less

Header question....

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Header question....

Ok so here we go. I am remodeling a kitchen. I have been framing for 15 years. However I just can't wrap my head around this situation. I have a wall that needs removal. The customer wants an open floor plan. The situation is the wall is 14' and needs to be replaced with a header. It is not the center bearing wall. However it runs against the second story joists. So is it bearing or is it simply bracing. If its bearing what is your thoughts on header widths. Was thinking 2 ply with a flitch

Re: Header question....

Shawn

see if you can get the original construction drawings.
    keep in mind if you are at the site and can't wrap your your head around this then it is even harder for us to get it when it is being explained by someone that can't figure it out.
    No insult meant whatsoever.

you need to provide us with a drawing and pictures and even then you are only guessing we are correct in any advice we give.
    When you take on the job you are the one responsible. I realize you are asking questions of you contemporaries and we would love to help but more info is needed and you are the one that is at risk.
    Mark Parlee
    BESI(building envelope science institute) Envelope Inspector
    EDI Certified EIFS Inspector/Moisture Analyst/Quality Control/Building Envelope II
    EDI Seminar Instructor
    Level one thermographer (Snell)
    www.thebuildingconsultant.com
    You build to code, code is the minimum to pass this test. Congratulations your grade is a D-

Comment

Originally posted by Shawn Mayo View Post