Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to the JLC Forums – Read-Only Edition

Please note that the JLC forums are now displayed read-only. New posts are no longer possible, but the collected work of building professionals sharing information remains available here as a resource to the JLC community.
See more
See less

Estimating my own home's remodel

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Estimating my own home's remodel

Hi Everyone,

I recently bought a 980 square foot single level house. My wife and I will live there, no kids yet. I am a general contractor in the SF Bay Area. I want to add the following to the house:

1. Addition on the back approximately 15 feet out and 40 feet wide. Property is relatively flat.
    2. Gut and redo kitchen
    3. Gut and redo bathroom.
    4. Add master bath within addition.
    5. Add 1/2 bath near kitchen
    6. Add washer/dryer area
    7. Tie in roof
    8. Exterior finishes
    9. And a ton more stuff I am not thinking of yet!!

Basically, if I was doing this for a client, I would define the scope, and price it out accordingly. Also, I am real clear on my contracts what I am not doing, aka "exclusions". But working for myself, I really need to think of everything I can and then bite off the project in chunks. I think the costs (especially labor) are a lot lower for my labor and also my mark up on subs. My subs might even give me a break too!

My question to all you that have worked on your own houses...how did you do it? And how did you budget for it? I want to do something, but I don't want to tackle to much, cuz I do not think I can work on my paying client's houses and still make my own home finished in a year or less.

Thanks...

Re: Estimating my own home's remodel

I suggest you price it out the same as you would for a customer 'cause when you're doing the work yourself you won't be able to work for someone else. although you'll save with "sweat equity" there will be other costs like reduced income.