Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default another miter saw thread

Greetings fellow citizens-

I have been using Makita Sliders for the last 8 or 10 years and I would like to add a non-sliding 10" to the mix. Suggestions? Would a $120 Hitachi be fine for shoe and smaller casings and base? Is this a dumb thread? What is the meaning of life?

Does anyone else feel like a dope lugging a big slider around when a lot of jobs can be done without one?

Be well.
    Josh O.

"If people knew how hard I worked to achieve my mastery, it wouldn't seem so wonderful after all. "

- Michelangelo-

Default Re: another miter saw thread

I don't own a slider. I have an old Bosch 3912, single bevel miter saw. It has not let me down. I would like better dust collection but............................

Me being a dope has nothing to do with the saw I use. Ask my wife, she'll tell you all about it.

Tom
    http://chicagocraftsmen.org/2011/06/261.html

Check with the AHJ, what we say doesn't matter.

The price is not the same but the quality is far beyond. Get the 7-1/2" Makita if you need a small miter saw. It is a great tool and can be used in many more applications than most would believe.

Its funny. Just a few days ago I was using my 10" bosch slider to install shoe molding. The home owner stopped by and asked "why do you need that big of a saw to cut such a little piece of molding?". And yeah I do feel like a dope when a pull out a saw that ways more than the 600' of shoe I'm about to install.
    I'd probably get a non slider if I didn't have 50 other things in front of it on the tools I should have list.
    Darrel Hunter

"You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do." - Henry Ford

Love my little Hitachi. Does 90% of trim work, 25lbs. cant's beat it. Get a decent blade.
    Nothing simple is ever easy