Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New GM work truck

I apologize in advance if this is not exactly the right forum to post even though I am a finish contractor. Continuing onward...

It has become time to start shopping for a new truck. I've been swayed more toward the 2012 Chevy/GMC line and leaning to the GMC SiGMerra with the new more efficient 5.3, locking rear, 4x4 and a few add-ons for towing my 6x10 work trailer.

Has anyone purchased this yet? Have you been pleased and what is your mileage with/without your work trailer might I ask?

I have also been thinking of possibly even looking further into the 6.0 diesel's as well. I would like some sound opinions here.

Thank you.

Default Re: New GM work truck

I was wrong, it would be the 6.6 turbo diesel that GM offers.

I have a 2010 GMC Serria 4 x 4 extended cab 8 ' box with a fiberglass cap. I get about 14 - 15 mpg average and around 20 highway. It has the active fuel management which works really well. It also has the towing package with a 6 speed auto but I don't tow at this point. I really like the truck. The 5.3 has some serious balls it really runs. Go drive it!

The 6.6 Duramax is an awesome engine but is big cash. I think it's around $8 or $9 grand to upgrade. You can buy a bunch of gas plus diesel is more expensive. My other truck is a diesel but it's a 97 I'd stay away from the new diesels except for the Cummings.
    ~Kent~

Ford and GM diesels have to have some kind of fluid added to help it pass emissions. PITA
    ~Kent~

For the last couple of years Chevy has offered a $4000 discount/rebate at the end of the model year, plus an additional $750 or so if you are a USAA member. Try to find a family member who works for a company that qualifies for the 'supplier employee' discount, plus the above.