Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 'fogged' double pane windows

Newbie here, thought you guys might know something I could not find on the web.

35 Year old insulated glass windows have become 'fogged' (actually etched)

tried to clean them by heating, slitting open the seal, then cleaning the insides, with the intent to reseal with butyl or polysulfide.

On attempting to clean, discovered that the class was actually etched ! Close inspection with magnification showed a surface with a pebbled appearance like a 1/10 scale basketball.

Question: what mechanism causes the etching?

Best found on the web so far was it could be an enzyme. The brand of the windows was Fentron (must be out of business, cannot find window maker by that name on net)

Since they are etched, found some free glass on craigslist and got that and used existing spacers and butyl to repair windows.

Default Re: 'fogged' double pane windows

I would say it is time for some new windows and suggest you talk to your local glass shop on what might meet yor needs. Oh by the way this forum is for those that are in the trades and not homeowners. Good luck.
    Randy

The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of a cheap price is forgotten

Randy
    On the building science portion of the forums we have been a little more accommodating of this type of conversation.
    We have been able to address and advise on some problems that have educated the masses that choose to participate.
    Mark Parlee
    BESI(building envelope science institute) Envelope Inspector
    EDI Certified EIFS Inspector/Moisture Analyst/Quality Control/Building Envelope II
    Level one thermagrapher (Snell Training)
    www.thebuildingconsultant.com
    www.parleebuilders.com
    You build to code, code is the minimum to pass this test. Congratulations your grade is a D-

Sheder