Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default Modifying 2 x 4 Manufactured Floor Trusses

I'm an engineer looking for practical advice on making modifications to existing 2x4 open web floor trusses. The trusses that are spaning the entire 25 ft. width of the basement garage in an existing home are sagging and need reinforcing. The floor system is filled with mechanicals and there's no easy way to modify or replace the trusses. The obvious solution is to put a support beam and posts down the middle of the garage, but this changes the stresses in the truss members and the plate connections. I can’t turn to the manufacturer because the home was built in the 80's, and there's no to find out who made the trusses. I’d love to hear from anyone that has found a creative way to solve this kind of problem.
    - Rich

Default Re: Modifying 2 x 4 Manufactured Floor Trusses

I usually have an engineer tell me how, but seeing how an engineer is asking either plywood the sides after you take the sag out (very slowly jacking )
    Or sister with LVL's
    12 Hours is only 1/2 a day

I've seen an ad for a product that attaches to the bottom of each joist (assuming they're accessible) and allows you to apply tension along the bottom of the joist using either a wedge or a turnbuckle.
    They are steel and hang below the joist. Unfortunately, I've forgotten the name and I can't find anything with a search. I think the ad was in JLC.

Someone may be familiar with them and know the name. I'll look in some back issues.

Quote Originally Posted by djawns View Post
    I've seen an ad for a product that attaches to the bottom of each joist (assuming they're accessible) and allows you to apply tension along the bottom of the joist using either a wedge or a turnbuckle.. . . . . .. I'll look in some back issues.
    Please do. That sounds *very* promising!
    - Rich