Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default Brick Veneer Flashing

Brick Veneer Flashing

I am a Code Inspector and am concerned about a typical treatment of thruwall flashing in the South East on wood frame residential construction.

The typical location of the flashing appears to leave the bottom of the sheathing and the bottom plate exposed to moisture build up and rot.

The flashing is typically taken to the inside face of the stud wall. As a result it leaves a potential gap at the bottom of the housewrap, where any moisture flowing down the housewrap can wick in

This could be prevented if the flashing were taken up under the housewrap against the front face of the sheathing, lapping it by at least 6”.

A brick veneer wall is already vulnerable to moisture intrusion, and the bottom of the cavity is typically full of mortar droppings impeding drainage. Additionally the use of 6 mil poly for flashing is, of course, cause for concern, but code does not disapprove this.

To compound the problem, the nailing of sheathing to the bottom plate is critical in high wind areas to securing the building for shear and uplift. If this sheathing stays wet, the nails loose their strength, and eventually moisture migrates inside.

Does anyone know any reasons why the flashing is taken to the inside face of the studwork?

Does anyone see problems with requiring it be brought to the face and lapped with houserap ?
    Attached Files Attached Files

Default Re: Brick Veneer Flashing

I would rather see that flashing at the face of the wall under the WRB myself. Perhaps that isnt polyethylene but was meant to be flashing tape. Im no mason either but I believe pea gravel is supposed to fill the cavity base to allow drainage in case of mortar build up. They also make a felt.
    Tom

Here is a great guide to some of the details
    http://www.olympiancares.com/mason%2...k%20veneer.pdf
    Mark Parlee