Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default JHow to insulate Bilco style basement entry doors

I have a Bilco style steel basement entry from Menards. I do not know the brand.
    I can not figure out how to insulte the door to eliminate the condensation the door has & retain the parts that hold the door open.
    I could spray foam the inside but I would still have an issue where the doors lap.
    Does anybody have any ideas on how to change the hardware so the door can be fully insulated or to replace portions of the doors to allow them to be insulated. It would also be nice to be able to instal a regulat door latch set in the doors. I've been loooking at this for a couple of years and the best I've come up with is a retractable sheet of insulation. I used 1/2" underslab reflective insulation with bubbles wrap on both sides of the foil & a 2x4 with a handle attached. It was attached at the door header & I would pull it back to the top of the steps.
    The set up worked and did had the desired affect but it didn't look so nice and wasn't very handy. We use that entrance far more than I ever thought we would so I would like a solution that is a little more user friendly.
    Any ideas or better places to post would be much appreciated.

Default Re: JHow to insulate Bilco style basement entry doors

Does the basement entry have a second door at the bottom of the stairs? I would assume so.
    I'm thinking make sure the lower door is well insulated and vent the stairwell to alleviate the condensation problem.
    Just a thought.

The lower door is a 46" walk-in freezer door I had as an extra off a job.
    The floor under the stairs is heated concrete.
    Does anybody make a retractable insulation? Similar to a window blind or retractable truck bed cover?

J.R. Savoie,
    You should have bought an insulated fiberglass bulkhead door:
    http://www.paramountfiberglass.net/P...es/Page387.htm