Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default 15 Gauge VS. 16 Gauge

Hi folks!

Ok, so I've been a carpenter for nearly ten years now, and have worked with dozens of other carpenters, each with their own habits and preferences. Early in my career most of my coworkers trimmed with 16 gauge and 18 gauge nailers. More recently, most of my coworkers use 15 gauge and 18 gauge nailers. Right now, I use a Hitachi 15 gauge, a Senco 18 gauge, and a Cadex 23 gauge for installing trim.

On a recent kitchen remodel my coworker and I had to install new ceiling panels, consisting of 1/2" MDF sheets with maple veneers, which I routed grooves to recreate the look of tongue and groove boards. We screwed and nailed the sheets to the ceiling framing using trim head screws, and my coworker insisted that we use 16 gauge nails as they would not "mushroom" the MDF as he claimed a 15 gauge nail would. He explained that it had to do with the head geometry, that the T-shape of the 16 gauge nails would not pucker the material as much. While I have had good experiences with my 15 gauge nailer, I certainly don't have an emotional investment in it if a 16 gauge nailer is superior.

So, what do you folks think? 15 gauge or 16 gauge, for installing most trim products (maple, oak, MDF, Azek, etc...)?

And, as far as 16 gauge nailers go, does anybody have any input regarding the Paslode T250A 16-Gauge Pneumatic Angled Finish Nailer?

http://www.amazon.com/Paslode-16-Gau...545157&sr=1-20

Default Re: 15 Gauge VS. 16 Gauge