Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default post and or peir foundation

I am a general contractor here in Ca. The wife and I are going to start building a vacation house in southern Colorado. I have never used a post or peir foundation but I am considering using it in Colorado. Does anybody have any thoughts and or info that would be helpfull.
    Thanks Pete

Default Re: post and or peir foundation

Here's a thought -- Why not ask a question? Then we're more likely to provide useful information.

It reads like a question to me, MH. Just without that curly line with a dot at the bottom that generally signifies an interrogative sentence.

OP, are you referring to a pad/pier (or crawlspace) foundation? I'm in FL, and we have quite a few of those here. I have a friend that did foundation work in CO for a while, and he said they had to do a lot of caissons or piles with pile caps and grade beams, really I guess it just depends on the lot you're building on. A crawl is a fairly inexpensive foundation to build, and much less than the money you spend on seismic engineering in CA. You also have a lot of flexibility with insulation, and the ability to service your plumbing.

my question is, will this type of foundation work as well as a perimeter foundation w/crawlspace. I am thinking of using post and peir because I can do it myself and a little bit at a time if necessary. Our lot is flat and it drains very well. Pete

our lot is flat, I would like a crawl space for all the above mentioned reasons. where we are in colorado there are no building codes.

Quote Originally Posted by builditslow View Post