Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Irregular/Bastard Hip Roofing Help

Greetings;

Just joined today, after reading numerous threads about irregular hip roofs.
    Incredible just how much everyone knows! Great forum.

Anyway, I am a professional renovator (Jack of all trades, master of none) who's trying to frame out an irregular hip roof on an addition to my own house. Although I have intermediate carpentry/math skills, I cannot figure out just how to finish the roof. I have searched the internet and read books, but can't find an answer that completely solves all the variables involved.

For all you master carpenters out there - and Joe Bartok's - here is my problem which I would REALLY like a STRAIGHTFORWARD answer to (I am about to eliminate the hip and continue the gable to the end, which of course will not blend well with my house.)

Situation:
    -gabled extension perpendicular from the house, pitch is 3.5/12 to match house. The rafters and ridge are up for this section. The theoretical ridge height is 40.8 inches and my major run is 139.875 inches.
    -the roof ends with a hip that is supposed to be 6/12 per drawings. (minor)
    -using a construction master calculator and scientific (trig) calculator, I have figured out all the math (I think!). Haven't had to do this much math in 20 years!
    -PROBLEM: I can't seem to find a way to match up the soffits/facia between the two pitches. My desired soffit overhang is 12", the sheathing angles are obviously different between 2 pitches
    (ie. after following my calculations, info on the net, the facia on the 6/12 rafter tails are about 3.5 inches lower than the 3.5/12 major roof pitch.

Can anyone help? My wife is about to kill me, what with all my wining and time spent on this problem. Been going thru a lot of beer too.

Thanks, Renovator4

Default Re: Irregular/Bastard Hip Roofing Help

Renovator,