Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default At what temp should a heat pump be set at?

First, some background-a couple of years ago I had a heat pump installed and used my natural gas furnace as a back up, I am a carpenter by trade and not that up-to-date on HVAC. After it was installed, I never got the feeling that it was installed or working properly, installer came back a few times and adjusted some things, but I could never tell the difference but what did I know. This winter came around and I still didn't feel right about how it was working, (my energy bills confirmed this) called the installer and he wouldn't answer or return my calls, after a couple of months I called a different heating contractor, they came out and installed a dual fuel kit so that the heat pump and the back up didn't run at the same time and it seems to be working fine now.

Here is my question: I live in NW Iowa, we set the outdoor thermostat at 20 degrees, indoor thermostat is set at 70. Today the outdoor temp was 22 and the heat pump was running, I put a probe from a digital thermometer into a floor register and it stayed steady at 79 degrees, for comparison, I turned on my gas back-up and the floor register temp was at 98 degrees. At what point does the heat pump not save me money because it has to run longer? Should I raise my outdoor thermostat?
    Thanks for any replies.

Default Re: At what temp should a heat pump be set at?

MReuter,