Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Have any of you volunteered for Habitat for Humanity?

Right now I am an apprentice under a carpenter in additions/remodeling and am thinking of volunteering with HfH on the weekends for boosted work experience and to keep moving on and ahead in the field, as it is my definite chosen career path.

Do any of you have experiences with it? Good? Bad? Recommend?

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, Washington

Default Re: Have any of you volunteered for Habitat for Humanity?

It depends completely on the folks at Habitat where you are. In some cases there are mostly non-pro folks working on those jobs and I wonder how much you'd learn. I have worked on a few sites for them as part of a job I had, where I took student crews out to work there. We did some teaching, and we got some work done, but it was not a highly professional environment. I think you'd be better off working your butt off 40 hours per week on your job, and spending some time in community college classes in the evenings if they have trades or math topics. I assume that you are not part of a formal apprenticeship program and do not have access to their training.

If you don't feel like you are learning enough in the job you have, look carefully for another one. Lotsa guys like me would give a right arm for a guy with your attitude towards learning.

I am active with my local Habitat and I think it's a great organization despite it's religious provenance (fortunately our local group is light on that) but I would do it for the value of the work to your community, not for the experience. Most Habitats don't allow nail guns and are careful with power tools for obvious reasons. I don't think you'll learn much carpentry, although having the volunteer experience on your resume might impress a potential employer.