Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Framing a Jerkinhead Gable (clipped gable)

i am a young framing contractor from Pa. I have been framing for about seven years and have been in business myself for about 2.5 years. In this time i have never come across a jerkinhead gable before. I enjoy roof framing and would love some good ideas to get one set up. Such as how high do you know how to take the gable rafters up before creating the hip?

Default Re: Framing a Jerkinhead Gable (clipped gable)

I never heard it called that before. I call it a clipped gable. I've only done one, so the terminology could've slipped by me.
    Google gave me this
    http://www4.bfn.org/bah/a/DCTNRY/j/jerkin.html

EDITED TO ADD:
    Is it trussed?
    What Pitch are we talking?
    What does the print say?
    How tall are you?
    Can you reach the ceiling?
    Sorry, ignore the last two. ;)
    Last edited by WarriorWithWood; 08-28-2007 at 07:20 PM.
    -Dennis

Can someone PLEASE invent a sarcasm font!

We are talking about a 15/12 pitch with a span of 34 feet, the clipped hip is also a 15/12. This house i am about to start has a very complex roof and a couple of these clipped gables. The print gives me nothing in the way of a detail on how to frame it, so any ideas would be good.

PS warrior..i am 6'2 and the ceiling height is 8-1'

this I believe is called a Snub hip in some areas

it is called many things in many areas, any ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by BucksPA View Post
    We are talking about a 15/12 pitch with a span of 34 feet, the clipped hip is also a 15/12. This house i am about to start has a very complex roof and a couple of these clipped gables. The print gives me nothing in the way of a detail on how to frame it, so any ideas would be good.

PS warrior..i am 6'2 and the ceiling height is 8-1'
    Do you have either one of these dimensions on the plans?