Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default Prep coat vs. skim coat

Hi guys,
    I am a general contractor. I recently got several bids for a new house I am building in CA. All local drywall subs, except a guy from LA, who is trying to establish himself here (near PalmSprings) gave their proposals with the 'prep coat' to achieve a good, level 5 smoot finish. I checked out the manufacturers web site and they claim it gives level 5. What is your experience regarding skim vs. prep. The guy with the skim coat proposal is not expensive, but he most probably does not have a good size crew. I have a feeling that he will just give it piece work to a few guys he has worked with.
    What is your advise?
    Thank you very much.
    Tom

Default Re: Prep coat vs. skim coat

Such a simple question. Don't you guys have 20 seconds to answer?

What do you mean a prep coat? What is that, touching up parts of the walls? Thats why no one answered!

I think he's talking about a particular product, "prep coat" being the product name... Tom, how about a link to the website you mentioned?

Tom,

A level 5 can be achieved either way. Whether its sprayed on or skimed by hand. It is really up to you to spend the time to look at their work and ask them specific questions. If you do not have a regular drywall co. that does your work then you need to do your homework in finding one.

The choice of who to use needs to be based on a lot more than which way the level 5 is applied. Don't let the size of a company fool you. Often the smaller co. is the more reliable and gives a higher quality product.

If your needing help in determining how to pick out the best co. to meet your needs and standards than fire away with questions. If your not serious about finding the right co. and your really shopping for price than.....oh well.

the 20 secomds to answer is easy,,,,