Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to the JLC Forums – Read-Only Edition

Please note that the JLC forums are now displayed read-only. New posts are no longer possible, but the collected work of building professionals sharing information remains available here as a resource to the JLC community.
See more
See less

Hip roof

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hip roof

Ok as by my name you can figure that I build sheds for a living, since I usally build three a day I don't have time to mess around! So I cut "EVERYTHING" in the shop and bring it to the job site and wack it together! My pet peev is jack rafters,, everthing I cut ie:commons, hips, ridge beam fits bang on, even the legnth of my jacks are bang on the only problem is that I can't seem to get a perfect fit of my jacks to the hip ex: 10x12 shed 5/12 pitch, I cut the commons at a 5/12 the hips at a 5/17 but what angle is the jack suposed to be? I cut a 45* cheek cut but 5/12 and 5/17 do not fit nice against the hip! I see on my framing square "SIDE CUT LEGNTH OF JACK RAFTER" IS 11.06 so I tried 5/11.06 and it seemed to fit rather well but is that the right way to read the square? For example on a 6/12 pitch under "SIDE CUT LEGNTH OF JACK RAFTER" it is 10.75 so on a 6/12 should I use 6/10.75 as my jack angle??? Would apreciate some help if anyone can thanks.

Re: Hip roof

Side cut info on a framing square is useless info. If the roof is regular, i.e. same pitch all around, the jack ANGLE is the same as commons. The BEVEL is 45 degrees. It's that simple.