Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Chief Architect vs. Softplan

Hi everyone
    First time on this forum, I'm a home builder in Pa using data-cad every once in a while. I got the demo disk from Softplan today and its seems like a pretty nice program. I also like the idea that you can buy a used copy and upgrade unlike
    chief.
    I see that Ebays sales Chief about 20 to 1 to Softplan.
    Has anyone used both programs to advise me or would someone recommend another program.
    Thanks
    Rick

Default Re: Chief Architect vs. Softplan

You're wrong about not being able to buy a used copy and upgrade with Chief. They do charge a license transfer fee, though.

Search for past comments, there are lots.

Could be E-bay sells many more Chief copies because the user base is that much bigger.

You can get a working demo copy of Chief and try it out for free. Unfortunately, you can't do that with Softplan. Gotta buy it first. (Unless they've changed that recently.)

Richard
    I might be wrong about that but I do know that everyone on Ebay in the last 2 weeks warns you that they are not upgradable and that some have call Chief and verified it.
    Thats all I know, I haven't call.
    Rick

I've used both. Power-wise, they're about the same. I prefer SoftPlan's user interface for drawing floorplans, although CA has them beat hands down for 3d renderings. SoftPlan's Softview module is a clumsy workaround at best.