Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Building three season room on post/pier w/slab on grade

Howdy all....my first post. For starters I'm just a carpenter, not an engineer or architect type. I've been lurking for a while and really enjoy reading here....I learn far more here than I do on the job site on any given day.

I'm gathering information to build a three season room on my house this summer. The plan at this point for reasons of simplicity and cost is to build on post and pier. The addition will sit roughly 48 inches above grade (attached to house) and the piers will extend below frost to roughly 42 below grade (I live in the 'burbs around Chicago).

I'm interested in pouring a slab under the addition and enclosing the 16'x20' area with 2x6 insulated walls (secure, dry storage). My concerns and reason for this post are with the slab.

In what way should I handle the slab so I don't have any issues with heave from frost?

I'm assuming a turndown slab with rebar in the edges and running in the pier holes too? If this would work, any suggestions as to how thick the slab should be (thinner is better for cost purpose (just storing boxes and such underneath - nothing heavy -), however I obviously don't want too thin where I'll have problems)? What about how thick in the turned down edge?

I know these questions will be answered at some point by either my village when I drop off the plans or by my architect, but I'm trying to get a jump on things...besides, I'd like to learn about it first as I'm not at all familiar with the foundations/footings aspect of building.

Thanks a bunch.

Tom

Default Re: Building three season room on post/pier w/slab on grade