Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Default Amish Carpenters

Hiya guys, i just found this forum yesterday and i'm loving it. I live in Southington Ohio just about 10 minutes from Middlefield where all the Amish live. I worked at a cabinet factory for 6 years then was convinced to work with an amish crew doing finish work. The crew i got involved with (luckily) were incredibly good. So i really learned from the best although they wouldn't let me do a whole lot more than base and casing. I have helped hang a ton of crown and built some outrageous all wood dens with built in's and every fancy detail imaginable. I dont' really have a good handle on cutting crown but i'm good at hanging it. We did all the exterior trim and cedar siding on Al Lerner's daughters house. It was 17,000 sq. feet!! Al Lerner is the guy that owned MBNA Mastercard. So anyhow i've had some really outrageous experience and top notch teaching. I figured out that i wasn't gonna be the guy getting the great pay because i'm not amish though. Anyhow i'm starting on my own now with one of the amish guys that "Yanked over" he's one of us now if you've never heard of it. He is 23 and has been working with my old boss since he was 14. Cutting crown at the age of 16 so you can imagine how good he is. (and unbelievably fast)
    I'm looking for some tips on advertising and building a solid customer base. We've got the experience, speed and quality of work to do some damage but need some advice in the right direction. We do decks, flooring, rails and everything in between.
    so hit me up with some wonderful advice on what direction to go and "not go"
    thanks

Default Re: Amish Carpenters

C12,
    Hey, why don't you tell us something about how the Amish do all their work without the use of electrical tools.
    How they go around that issue.
    Tell us anything you think is unconventional to us but not to them.