Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Rafter dado saw

John D Guest

Default Rafter dado saw

I've been searching for a while now, but cannot find the circular dado saw for cutting the birds mouth in rafters that have been racked up.
    It resembles a skill saw with a stacked dado set on it. Anyone have a clue where I can get one?

JOE CAROLA Guest

Default Re: Rafter dado saw

John,

I'm a framing contractor in New Jersey, I looked for one to but nobody seems to make them any more do to OSHA reasons.

In Fine Homebuilding, 'Framing Roofs" Theres an article by Larry Haun, "Framing a Gable Roof" he shows his saw 8 1/4" wormdrive with a dado blade in it. He said made by (Pairis Enterprises)

I called them up they said OSHA gave them a problem with it.That was about a year and half ago
    you can try to call them now see what they say.

I found "BIGFOOT SAWS" they make a 10" wormdrive with a swing table that cuts 75 deg at 3 1/2" debth. Also a 14" wormdrive that cuts 75 deg at 5 1/2" debth.

If you have a (5/12 pit) set your rafters up on the bench, snap your heel cut line and set your regular saw at 22.62 deg and cut that first.
    Than snap your seat cut line and set your bigfoot saw at 67.38 deg and cut that.

Letme know what you think, you might even have a bigfoot already.

greg zajac Guest

John-even if you could cut the birds mouth out with the dado saw, how are you cutting your plumb cuts. I am a framing contractor in connecticut, and work mostly on 9 to 12 pitch roofs on 2 x 10-2 x 12 material.I went to a JLC hosted seminar will Will Holliday demonstated the chainsaw technique, but I doubt my builders or building inspectors would be impressed. How much of a time saving is this, and how accurate- plus or minus 1/4"? Greg in connecticut- still learning

JOE CAROLA Guest

John,

Do you do alot of track homes, customs?