Are you a subscriber but don’t have an online account?

Register for full online access.

+ Reply to Thread
    Chris Gordon Guest

Default Durock and shower pans.

I'm a master plumber and I have installed a lot of showers. Many are shower pan showers with tile or Corian. I don't do the tile work. Not because I can't, but because I choose not to. Where I work, most tile showers are done with copper pans. Vinyl pans are starting to be used. I'll do the vinyl if I have to. But I usually cover the thresholds with vinyl and use preformed dam corners to lead any water back into the pan. When it leaks, they always call the plumber.

I just did this job where a copper pan was used and I covered the threshold. I set the drain height for a proper height and the carpenter installed the durock slightly above this point. As I have always seen it done, allowing for the finish tile height. The European expert tile installer came and made them rip the durock off and install it into the bottom of the pan and poured the base to this. I was horrified. I've seen this application wick water through capillary action and leak over the edge of the pan. The tile installer was adamant that this was the proper way to install the Durock.

I don't think that this is correct and the USG Durock instructions say to leave a space for expansion and sealant at the bottom board and tile. Which is what I have always done and seen done.

What are the thoughts here? I'm very interested.

I'll probably not live long enough to see the total disaster of this job, but I might,

Chris Gordon

e3 Guest

Default Re: Durock and shower pans.

Either way depending on the board.see tca detail b-415 and b-426 In some case the mortar bed is used to hold the bottom edge so no nails or screws go into the membrane below the membrane.

Kevin Tindall Guest