Announcement

Collapse

ALERT - Threads Not Displaying

A large number of threads from the last 12 months are no longer displaying in the individual Forums. The technical team is aware of the problem and we are working to resolve it. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.
See more
See less

cutting cultured marble vanity tops

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cutting cultured marble vanity tops

I am a trim carpenter in southern WI. The GC I sub-contract from buys stock size marble tops we have to cut to fit between walls. Has any one used a saw blade or router bit to cut this material with, and have good results? Tops are usually 72 3/4" long vanities 72" with small filler. I have tried to talk him into just making openings bigger but havn't had any luck. Thanks for any info. Pinecrest

Re: cutting cultured marble vanity tops

I have successfully cut them with a masonry blade in a circular saw, as well as a smaller abrasive blade in an angle grinder. Tried using a diamond wheel in the angle grinder, but it didn't cut very well. Keep in mind, the cut edge was not pretty, but it was covered up with a side splash.

Good luck.

Comment

Pinecrest- I usually just use whatever blade is in my circular saw to cut them, (from underneath when possible), and clean the cut up with a belt sander. I never use the side splashes.

Mike.

Comment

We've belt-sanded edges for minor scribing - 36 or 50 grit.

Comment

You can make a real nice cut with a masonry blade in a skil saw. It's no big deal at all.

Whatever you do, cut outdoors and do not breath the dust. Any type of fine masonry dust has the long-term effect of causing silicosis, a serious lung condition.
          "If you only have a hammer, all problems look like nails"

Vintage wood window repair and restoration in Chicago
          Wood storm windows in Chicago
          Weatherizing vintage buildings in Chicago

Comment