Announcement

Collapse

ALERT - Threads Not Displaying

A large number of threads from the last 12 months are no longer displaying in the individual Forums. The technical team is aware of the problem and we are working to resolve it. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.
See more
See less

Scratched Glass

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scratched Glass

How many builders out there think they know where most scratched glass comes from? I've been doing construction window cleaning for over 40 years and discovered a few years ago, some glass is defective, which scratches when cleaned.

My company cleans 3500+ homes each year for local and national builders in the San Francisco Bay Area in California and none of my builders pay for scratched defective tempered glass, they send it back for a refund.

Anyone out there ever heard about defective tempered glass and why it scratches? Anyone want to know more about it?

Dan Fields
    Dan Fields
    Fields Construction Services, Inc.
    Phone: 800-542-2724 Ext. 201
    E-mail: WindowGuru@Aol.com
    www.StopScratchedGlass.com

Re: Scratched Glass

Well don't keep us in suspense. Tell us more.

Comment

The only scratches on glass that I have encountered were from inexperienced painters who scratched the glass when they sanded the mulls

Comment

Dan,

We did a whole house remodel a few years back in Mill Valley, your neighborhood. The cleaners at the end of the job used the wrong blade to clean the divided lights (tempered glass) on the French Doors, scratched every one of them.

Anyway, are you waiting for a subscription fee before you enlighten us? ....start typing...
        Mike

Comment

So what kind of blades are you supposed to use on tempered glass?

Comment

Charles,

Your question is probably directed to Dan Fields and not me but...