PDA

View Full Version : Basement wall thickness

brent
01-14-2004, 05:35 PM
My father in law is building a basement with walls that reach up to 10 - 12 feet in some areas. He was going to use 8 inch hollow block and fill them with concret and rebar. if he uses block should he not use thicker block? would'nt pourd walls be better and if so how thick. the soil around the area is clay. The backfill will probably be around 10 feet is some areas too. Is there a book or web page I can tell him to look. Thanks for the help

mike
01-14-2004, 07:12 PM
Brent, time to consult an architect or engineer. My 42 years of experience tells me that poured concrete would be best. If that is not an option, I would think 12" block , reinforced and filled would be next best way. I am an old carpenter, not a architect or engineer.

Sonny
01-14-2004, 07:34 PM
The IRC has some prescriptive designs for both poured walls and block ones up to 10' high. The soils that will be used for backfill and the height of backfill are extremely important. The heavier the soil and the taller the backfill, the heavier the needed reinforcing. By the way, the height of the wall is measured from the top of the basement slab, not the top of the footing (unless they happen to be the same--not likely in my area, but...)If the walls are over 10' you will need an engineer if you are using the IRC.

FramerT
01-14-2004, 07:35 PM
Ditto!! 12in. block or poured concrete are standard issue on basement walls that high around here.FramerT.

tkr
01-14-2004, 09:54 PM
Quote¿Sonny 1/14/04 7:34 p.m.