PDA

View Full Version : sizing a header

Deuce1
11-28-2006, 08:06 PM
I would like to create an opening in a wall, (approx. 9.5 ft.), in a downstairs wall on a two story residential house. The upstairs floor-joists lap above the area of the prospective opening. There is a 2x4 interior wall above this same area and ceiling joists for the upper rooms lap also above this area. But there is no roof supports of any sort above this area. The walls are sheet-rocked, and on either side of the new opening are two 32" return-air chases. How can I go about sizing the header for this new opening. I have been a carpenter for some 30 years, but have always relied on lumber tech to tell me what I should use. Is there a sizing calculater, (so to speak), that will help me size the header myself? Or can someone advise me what header will SAFELY carry this span? I am more that comfortable in supporting the downstairs ceilings temporarily, while cutting the opening. I just need to know what size of header or lamenant beam will carry this opening.
I appreciate your help....Thanks Ron

Bill Lacey
11-28-2006, 08:50 PM
If you go to WWPA.org, there is an Excel file that has all sorts of lumber calculating functions in it (Design Suite, or something like that). Other than that, you have to figure out how many pounds per foot you're trying to carry, and look up a span table to see how many plies of what height lumber you need to carry that load.

If all that fails, go to either a lumber yard or call an engineer.

Tom Thomas
11-28-2006, 09:08 PM
Deuce,

The rule of thumb that I learned so long ago I can't remember the source; prehaps Popular Mechanics:6ft span=4x6 or double 2x6,8ft=4x8 etc.
So 4x10 or double 2x10 would be sufficient for 9.5ft.

There is a way to retrofit a header without shoring inside. Once you have the
existing studs exposed, cut out a path for one side of the header only half way through the studs. Then install one 2x10 complete with jack stud. Now