PDA

View Full Version : stud layout, HELP!

matt1984
02-14-2006, 08:20 PM
i have a question that many of you might think is stupid, i am an apprentice so here it goes... theres 3 ways of laying out for 16 oc studs ive heard of, they are : pulling 15 1/4 from the end and then 16s the rest of the way. Another way i heard and have seen was pulling all 16s and centering the stud on every 16" mark. The last i know is just pulling every stud at 16" and the X to the right (up the tape)....can someone explain each of these different ways to me and which one is the best?
Also, does it matter if your sheathing/sheetrock is getting railroaded?

Thanks
Matt

dgeorge
02-14-2006, 08:38 PM
I am not sure if there is a so called right way, as long as you do it consistantly. I personally hook my tape on the end of the plate and mark 15 1/4", then 16 3/4", then 31 1/4, then 32 3/4, and so on. I always put an "X" between the two marks so it is idiot proof for my "nailers". I was tought to layout all doors and window openings befor I laid out the studs.

alainbagagem
02-14-2006, 08:52 PM
i look at my roof layout first, then layout.

ckelsoe
02-14-2006, 09:23 PM
I just mark 3/4 short from the stud mark on the tape. That is simple and always works no matter what stud width I use (16" or 24").

DinoGar
02-14-2006, 09:50 PM