PDA

View Full Version : Dewalt 712 Sliding Miter Saw

vanderpooch
08-16-2003, 05:13 PM
Gents,
I have finally saved enough to buy myself a miter saw. I was pretty sold on the 706, both due to good reviews here and the fact that I have used the 705 for years in a number of different shops.

I am not a full time finish carpenter and don't really hang crown much. I will use the saw more for general shop use, occasionally using it for trim jobs as I get them.

I am tempted by the increased crosscut capacity of the slider, while still maintaining the light weight of the 706 (43 pounds). I have ruled out the big slider both because of price, weight and size.

Have any of you used this saw? What were your impressions? I know a lot of DW bashing goes on, but I think their miter saws are hard to beat. I have made thousands of cuts on the 705's and never had one problem.

Thanks, as always, for your advice.

-Kit

joseph merz
08-16-2003, 07:40 PM
i have that 12" mitersaw and i am finish by trade .i have been able to use a handheldsaw and guide for wide material .but since mostly i work for contractors there is one on sight. I supply the small and speciallity tools let someone else lug that boat anchor .Though mine is always on sight and saw of my choice ,i have an excellent table setup and this saw will do most everything .

vanderpooch
08-16-2003, 10:30 PM
Just to clarify...

The Dewalt slider I'm referring to is the new 8 1/2", not the big 12".

Thanks,

Kit

Sheldon
08-17-2003, 11:52 AM
Kit: I'd think it comes down to what you'll use the saw for most. If you're crosscutting stock wider than a 1x8 all the time, a slider is great.
(The DW706 does a 1x8).