PDA

View Full Version : Remodel with old plaster walls

Gary
08-18-2003, 12:08 PM
I work for a general contractor who is remodeling a home that was built in 1915 with plaster walls on wood lath. The remodel is fairly extensive (upgrades to electrical, mechanical, plumbing, insulation, tear out walls, build new walls, etc.). I am trying to decide if it will be more economical to tear off all of the plaster and lath or just cut holes and notch channels where necessary. Any suggestions? Some of my questions are: Can we patch the holes and channels that we dig with drywall so that it matches the existing plaster? When we cut a new hole, will it damage the surrounding plaster so much that we should just remove all of it? Should we do a skim coat over everything after all of our patchwork is complete in order to blend the new with the old? We are considering blowing cellulose insulation into the wall cavities to increase the R-value - I have never done this before, What problems might we run into trying to fill the whole cavity and patching the holes every 16"? I would like to read some thoughts from anyone with experience or expertise in this kind of work. Thank you.

Beezo
08-20-2003, 09:26 PM
Gary, I have never done a entire house remodel but have done several rooms and such with plaster walls. It sometimes depends on just how much you will have to remove to know if it is worth doing the entire removal. It does make a much easier job if it is all gone for the electrician or plumber not always easier on the drywall guy. Although all that patching can get to be pretty problematic. How do you know if the plaster and lath you remove is going to be 1/2inch or 5/8 inch or like I have seen in some corners nearly an inch thick. Here are some other things to consider
What does the inspectors say about partial removal? Here once you take out so much they want it all gone to be able to really inspect what is going on in the walls.